Classically trained pianist, singer and songwriter Sharon Robinson first started working with Leonard Cohen on his 1979 Field Commander Cohen tour. An established songwriter in her own right, partway through the tour she and Cohen collaborated on “Summertime” which was subsequently recorded by Diana Ross and Roberta Flack. Robinson would continue singing and writing with Cohen, co-authoring “Everybody Knows” for I’m Your Man, “Waiting for the Miracle” for The Future and “In My Secret Life” and “Boogie Street” from Cohen’s critically acclaimed album Ten New Songs, in which Sharon co-wrote all the songs and produced. She also co-produced Dear Heather, and co-wrote two of the songs.

In addition to her work with Cohen, Robinson won a Grammy Award in 1985 for the song “New Attitude” sung by Patti LaBelle for the movie Beverly Hills Cop. Her songs have also been recorded by a host of artists including Aaron Neville, Randy Crawford, the Pointer Sisters, the Temptations, Ute Lemper and Don Henley. Sharon’s current album, Everybody Knows, has been a popular and critical success. It includes 3 songs written with Cohen, and album cover art by him. Robinson recently did her own tour of the West Coast to a captive audience, and is currently working on new material for her next album.